The name Vodka is derived from the Slavic word voda or woda, which means water. People only know vodka to be made out of potatoes, but is that is? If you are among those people, you are unaware of the fact that potato is not the only base product for every vodka brand. There are a variety of other products too through what is Vodka made from.
Must Read: How Many Calories in Vodka?
There’s no surprise in calling vodka to be one of the most diverse spirits in the world. It’s often flavorless which can leave anyone in doubt about the base ingredient through which it is made. We can say that vodka can be distilled from a variety of ingredient which has the tendency to be fermented to prepared alcohol. But in most cases, vodka is produced through potatoes, cereal grains, and sugar beet molasses. Whichever ingredient that will be brought in use to make vodka will substantially affect its flavor.
Each vodka drinker would be having this particular one vodka brand which he mostly picks. So, let’s particularly target the most famous vodkas, and find out what your favorite vodka is made from.
What is Tito’s Vodka Made From
If you had been drinking Tito’s vodka on your party nights, then you must know what is Tito’s Vodka made from?
Tito’s Handmade Vodka has formally included “Gluten-Free” to their labels based on the ongoing TBB ruling on the gluten-free guidelines for alcoholic beverages! While most of the vodkas are made with wheat, Tito’s Handmade Vodka is prepared out of 100% corn mash! According to the new guidelines, the spirits which are produced using ingredients that don’t contain wheat can mark products as being gluten-free. In the past, a typical misconception was that all the vodka is gluten-free because the gluten protein was expelled amid the distillation process. The TTB maintains there is insufficient consistency in the industry that will ensure consumer safety, making just a select couple of liquor brands gluten-free, which includes Tito’s as well!
The brand used the pot still methods for preparing fine single malt scotches and high-end French cognacs. The same technique is now used in the perfected way for the 100% corn mash recipe of Tito’s Vodka.
The unmistakable, odorless and unmatched smoothness of Tito’s Handmade Vodka is the clearest expression of the spirit and one of the few varieties which are appreciated to be perfect. It was Tito’s expectation to make smooth and pure vodka that women would love to sip because of its refined sense of taste.
Grey Goose Vodka
Though it’s impossible to know everything about vodka, still people who are somewhat aware of this spirit would have definitely heard to Grey Goose vodka. This clear and odorless vodka is usually a favorite of most people. But, have you ever thought, what is Grey Goose vodka made from? It’s time to reveal the truth behind this vodka.
Vodka can be produced using any fermentable material. There are various commercial vodkas produced using potatoes, grapes, blended grains that incorporate barley. Grey Goose utilizes soft winter wheat from Picardy, a grain-growing locale in northern France that is regularly alluded to as the country’s breadbasket. This specific wheat assortment is sown in autumn and properly harvested in the late summer; the organization sources the grains from a little group of farmers. Generally, wheat-based vodkas are softest in texture, contrasted with the other vodka. People associated with Grey Goose likewise contend that the character of their vodka additionally bears the stamp of the Picardy regions.
When we list out the best-seller among the vodka brands, Smirnoff always comes into the list. The fan following of this vodka is not going down anytime soon. If you call yourself a Smirnoff vodka fan, then do you know, what is Smirnoff vodka made from? Don’t worry as there would be the only a handful of people who might know this. Start reading, and you will encounter the same.
Smirnoff is distilled from corn. The plain vodka by the company is ought to be safe, regardless of whether you’re touchy to gluten-grain-based alcohol. Smirnoff additionally is putting forth “Smirnoff Sourced” enhanced vodka, which contains 10% fruit juice from concentrate and is considered as “gluten-free.” Smirnoff Sourced flavors incorporate Ruby Red Grapefruit, Pineapple, and Cranberry Apple.
The flavored versions of Smirnoff usually have some traces of gluten but that’s not the case with the plain old Smirnoff. It is completely made out of corn and thus known to be totally gluten-free.
Here comes another popular vodka brand, Absolut. Thanks to the ridiculously successful marketing campaign, almost everyone knows about this brand. With the iconic tagline “Absolut Perfection”, the vodka kept on getting the attention of most of the people.
But even if people drink it, there are chances that they won’t be much aware of the fact that, what is Absolut Vodka made from?
Water and winter wheat are the main ingredients of Absolut Vodka. The water originates from a profound well in Åhus where it’s shielded from any kinds of impurities. Winter wheat contrasts from different crops: it’s sown in fall and harvested the following one. Days in the middle of it becomes under the Swedish snow growing the hard grain. Additionally, the utilization of fertilizers is limited.
Another fact that makes this vodka highly unique is that it is exclusively made from natural ingredients and does not possess any kind of added sugar. It’s as clean as vodka should be.
Russian Standard Vodka
As the name denotes this vodka brand is highly popular in Russia, but along with that the Russia Standard Vodka even marked its prestige in various other regions of the world. Let’s encounter what is Russian vodka made from?
Because of its versatility, vodka keeps on being the most mainstream of spirits, shaping the base for the largest conceivable scope of cocktails. All the options from the astonishing exhibit of flavored vodka, even plain vodka varies a lot in taste and surface contingent upon the base fixings. In spite of the fact that Vodka can be refined from pretty much any starch, the primary fixings are frequently: wheat which can confer an aniseed note, barley, and rye, which brings sweetness with a somewhat nutty and fiery smell. For the individuals who like a smooth surface, potato can offer a delicate, rich flavor and is an incredible option for making gluten-free cocktails.
So, before you choose your vodka shot on the next party, you will now know what exactly the base ingredient is for which you are going.